The Annual Wrestling Tournament With a New Addition

MURRAY, NEB.– The Conestoga wrestling team hosted their annual home tournament Saturday, December 2nd. Something new was added this year, a girls bracket was added to the normal classic line-up.

Conestoga had both boys and girls teams that competed in the tournament. The girls team placed 3rd with 52 points, and the boys team placed 4th with 123 points. The Conestoga teams had many medalists including four first place medalists, senior Keaghon C. junior Carter P., freshman Morgan H. and freshman Kylee P.

Angelina Flores (120), Emory Trofholz (126), and Destiny Epp (235) captured medals for the Conestoga girls team.

Asher Koehnen (106 pounds), Calum Jeys (113), Lucas Anderson (152), Kenny Adkins (160) and Gage Totilas (220) won medals for the Conestoga boys.

Keaghon C. won his 4th first place Cougar Classic champion title: the first time ever in Conestoga history.

Keaghon C. said, “It felt pretty cool to be honest. When I got up after my win, all I could see and hear were people cheering and screaming, it was extremely exciting to have an achievement like that in this school.”

This tournament was the first time the Conestoga girls team competed this season. The girls team at Conestoga is new this year with NSAA now having girls wrestling as a sponsored sport.

Keaghon C. said, “I am looking forward to ending my career with a bang. Spending time with the coaches I grew up with and the teammates that I have such close bonds with.”

The wrestling teams will continue their season throughout the month of December competing in duals and tournaments.

Danie Parriott

Girls results

120 – Kylee Plowman (1st)

Won by forfeit over Angelina Flores (CHS), pinned Bettie Chambers (PLY) 1:20

120 – Angelina Flores (3rd)

Pinned by Bettie Chambers (PLY) 3:01, forfeit to Kylee Plowman (CHS)

126 – Emory Trofholz (2nd)

Pinned by Ryleigh Eckles (MNO) 1:50, dec. Saryah Freeman (PLY) 7-4, pinned Mya Stanley (LOU) 1:41

132 – Morgan Hensch (1st)

Pinned Nyuayoung Gatluak (MNO) 0:24, pinned Kloee Mitcham (MNO) 1:13

235 – Destiny Epp (4th)

Pinned by Janiyah Earth (WNB) 0:25, dec. by L.J. Doeppr (MNO) 9-8, pinned by Precious DeCora (WNB) 0:39

Boys results
106 – Asher Koehnen (2nd)

Pinned Emmett Cooley (LCHS) 1:34, pinned by Hudson Urkoski (HPC) 4:54

113 – Calum Jeys (3rd)

Pinned by Mitchell Hubert (NEU) 3:27, pinned Jasmine Guerrero (LGV) 1:28

126 – Logan Christensen

Pinned by Owen Meyer (LGV) 1:24, pinned by Adain Robles (WNB) 0:54

126 – Collin Dufault

Pinned by Jace Goebel (SYR) 1:46, pinned Brennan Hoskins (PLY) 1:00, pinned by Wyatt Willnerd (LGV) 4:11

132 – Blaine Adams

Pinned by Isaac Wegrzyn (LCHS) 0:20, pinned by Ladanian Free (WNB) 0:21

132 – Ethan Avidano

Dec. by Melaki George (WNB) 17-11, pinned by Nick McCaul (LOU) 4:21

138 – Gaige Gillott

Pinned by Max Lautenschlager (NEU) 0:39, pinned by Mason Serkiz (CHS) 1:17

Danie Parriott

138 – Mason Serkiz

Pinned Jonathan Glantz (PLY) 0:42, maj. dec. by Chance Foust (LGV) 13-3, pinned Gaige Gillott (CHS) 1:27, pinned Cody Lutz (LOU) 3:29, pinned by Barret Brandt (SYR) 1:56

138 – Scott Dufault

Pinned Cody Lutz (LOU) 3:32, pinned by Barret Brandt (SYR) 0:42, dec. Noah McKenzie (SYR) 7-5, dec. by Miguel McGrew (LCHS) 4-3

138 – Keaghon Chini (1st)

Pinned Zeke Sharpback-Lujan (WNB) 1:32, pinned Niklas Sorensen (LOU) 2:42, dec. Chance Foust (LGV) 9-2, dec. Max Lautenschlager (NEU) 9-7

145 – Jacob Landon

Pinned by Justus Weidemann (LGV) 0:39, pinned by Tyler Sears (SYR) 1:41

145 – Carter Plowman (1st)

Pinned Blake Dickey (LOU) 0:57, pinned Wyatt Urkoski (HPC) 3:27, dec. Seth McGrew (LCHS) 11-9

152 – Lucas Anderson (2nd)

Pinned Lorenzo Pietrangelo (CBL) 1:25, pinned Adam Ohnoutka (NEU) 1:54, pinned by Cy Petersen (SYR) 1:55

160 – Kenny Adkins (3rd)

Pinned by Brandt Leech (HTRS) 3:34, won by medical forfeit over Brock Schwarz (CBL), dec. Braxton Walz (SYR) 4-3, pinned Bryce McLain (LOU) 2:23, pinned Malachi Davis (LCHS) 1:15

170 – Trey Rodis

Pinned by Barrett Bischoff (SYR) 1:06, dec. by Wesley Parolek (PLY) 8-2

170 – Alonso Montes

Pinned by Tyler Essary (WW) 0:51, pinned by Braydon Wobken (LGV) 0:53

220 – Gage Totilas (3rd)

Pinned Anthony Roth (LCHS) 2:20, pinned by Logan Booth (LGV) 1:05, pinned Wyatt Palm (NEU) 0:31, dec. Jackson Nordhues (SYR) 5-1